|
|
|||||||
| About Us | Register | FAQ | Members List | Calendar | Mark Forums Read |
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
|
|
#1 (permalink) |
|
Illusion's play
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In a world of lies
Posts: 3,703
|
poetry.com...fake or real???
A few months ago a friend of me entered his poem into poetry.com with his profile and you could like win 20,000$ ,so I also entered a poem of mine,and then after some months that friend got an email that he was nominated...then I also received the same email 2 weeks ago or so...so that made us think it was fake...
Now today ive received a letter concerning it,and I have to send some form back to ensure that its my own piece of work and stuff like that....there is also another thing you can send to order books of poetry including a book with your poem in ..you dont HAVE to order them tough,you can just send the confirmation that your poem is really yours...but im doubting..would this be totally fake and it just be a confirmation for them that my adres is correct and that they can send spam to me even on my adress???or is it real???..does anybody know?
__________________
Member of the " Pessimists Club " Visit my personal Doom project (music,not the game) at Lament Of Suffering
|
|
|
|
|
|
#2 (permalink) |
|
Registered User
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: São Paulo - Brazil
Posts: 7,649
|
A quick search on Google for ' poetry.com +scam ' revealed the following page: http://www.eliteskills.com/writing_s...y.com.scam.php
According to this page, it's truly a scam. Google for it and see for yourself. There're many more results that seem to indicate that this is the case. Don't forget the Internet Golden Rule: "If it looks too good to be true, it probably is".
__________________
"The Improved Man will be a king over you. And give women their dowries as appointed." - Anders Sandberg The Hell Law says that Hell is reserved exclusively for them that believe in it. Further, the lowest Rung in Hell is reserved for them that believe in it on the supposition that they'll go there if they don't. - HBT; The Gospel According to Fred, 3:1 - The Principia Discordia BTW, Don't Forget to Desecrate your Quran. |
|
|
|
|
|
#3 (permalink) |
|
Ramma Gay
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Somwhere out in space? The Land of the Free? Heaven or Hell?
Posts: 11,495
|
Too bad Carnage, you should try getting in contact with some small metal bands if it's about those lyrics. Some might even like them, you can always try
|
|
|
|
|
|
#6 (permalink) | |
|
Psychotic Robot Master
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Angelgrove
Posts: 1,362
|
Quote:
Jk
__________________
[23:02:11] <HC_Rikki> i have a list of webcomic here, you really might like. mustsee references [23:03:07] <Neverm0re> hmm, I can always look at them but references is far to be a thing that I need. [23:03:39] <Neverm0re> and I do believe representing the members the way I think they are is quite cool because they are stars ![]() [23:04:15] <Neverm0re> of course, some are over exagerated like miretank who has an afro [23:05:30] <HC_Rikki> were the herpes and other discutable features necessary ? [23:05:52] <Neverm0re> XD |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#7 (permalink) |
|
Registered User
![]() ![]() Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 146
|
I think its a scam but could be a genuine site also.... coz i entered a contest months ago and remember getting a letter in the post saying about some poetry conference blah blah... but also received the emails saying i was nominated etc. I think its just to get people to buy their book or whatever they're selling.
__________________
Laptop: Intel Pentium M 1.5GHz Centrino, Toshiba 60GB HDD, Nvidia Geforce FX GO 5200, 512mb RAM, DVD/CD-RW, Windows XP Pro SP2 Desktop:Gigabyte K8NE NF4 (Triton), AMD Athlon 64 3000+ 2.2GHz, 1x 120GB IDE 7200rpm HDD, Nvidia Geforce 6600GT PCI-E, 2x 512MB PC2700 Kingston RAM, 16x Samsung DVD Writer, Winfast 2000 XP Deluxe TV Card, Win XP Pro SP2 Test Server: Gigabyte Skt 939 GA-K8N51GMF-9, AMD Athlon 64 Dual-core 3800+, 1x 40GB IDE 7200rpm HDD, 1x 120GB IDE 7200rpm HDD, 1x 120GB SATA150 HDD,Corsair TWINX1024 PC3200 2x512MB, Antec SLK3000B Mid Tower, Fedora Core 4 64bit (SMP kernel) |
|
|
|
|
|
#8 (permalink) |
|
Illusion's play
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In a world of lies
Posts: 3,703
|
thx for the info..those ****ers...oh well....
btw Cid,I wont let other bands use it,my band that I have now might finally get a rehearsel space ,for free too !! so my hopes are high on that...and I also might become the new singer of a band in wich some friends of me are..death/black metal that is Anyhow if things workout good I'll be singer/songwriter of two metalbands then.I might also post a sample of one of the bands our rough mixes..were doing quite well I must say
__________________
Member of the " Pessimists Club " Visit my personal Doom project (music,not the game) at Lament Of Suffering
|
|
|
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|