Emuforums.com

Go Back   Emuforums.com > General Discussion > Open Discussion
About Us Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Login to remove all ads!
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 15th, 2004   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
VDDZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: in a box under the stairs in the corner of the basement half a block down the street from Jerry's Bait shop, You know the place.
Posts: 502
Think I can trust this place?

http://o-e-m.biz/?sister

My mom got an email for them. She was reading something to me about "Microsoft Windows XP OEM" and I thought "Oh great, they are trying to catch me," but it seems OEM means that it does not have the box, just the CD and key. I was wondering if anyone knows if the place is liget, or just a fancy rip off. I could use, uhhh, another WinXP key and cd, and if these guys are clean, I think I will go with them.
__________________


Image made by someone at deviantART.com, I lost their name, sorry...
VDDZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2004   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
INCA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cali
Posts: 710
I wouldnt trust it. Most junk mail are scams.
__________________
My Laptop:
Dell 700m
1.8ghz Centrino, 80gigs, Win XP Pro sp2, 1gig PC2700
Intel Graphics Card.


R.I.P. My Dreamcast 2000-2004
INCA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2004   #3 (permalink)
C:\
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: (It's never dull in....) Hull, UK
Posts: 364
OEM software is menat to be sold with hardware as far as i know (which in Windows XP OEM terms can be as small as a fan! - so i'm told by one of our suppliers here in the UK). Of course OEM can mean different things by different suppliers, countries and manufacturers.

This website has some very cheap software as far as i can see, but still wouldn't trust anything that came through my inbox without me asking for it.
__________________
Got a Windows Server Problem? Check out ServerSupport.co.uk
tonyyeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2004   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
scottlc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: St Andrews, Scotland
Posts: 1,575
OEM stands for Original Equiptment Manufacturer and are for distribution only with a new PC AFAIK.
__________________
OS: Arch Linux w/ Kernel 2.6.23.8 + GNOME 2.20.1 - CPU: Intel Pentium M 1.5GHz - Memory: 1280MB DDR PC2700 - Browser: Mozilla Firefox 2.0.0.10
scottlc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2004   #5 (permalink)
Administrator
 
moomoomoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 839
I thought it stood for Offer Excludes Manuals! (EDIT: Where'd I get that from? I blame my parents, they don't know anything.)

Buying Microsoft products is generally a disaster. Some places you can buy from are actually Microsoft employees selling on the software illegally. heh.
moomoomoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2004   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
scottlc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: St Andrews, Scotland
Posts: 1,575
Yes, you should certainly be very weary of "too good to be true" offers. You will pay for it otherwise.
__________________
OS: Arch Linux w/ Kernel 2.6.23.8 + GNOME 2.20.1 - CPU: Intel Pentium M 1.5GHz - Memory: 1280MB DDR PC2700 - Browser: Mozilla Firefox 2.0.0.10
scottlc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2004   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
VDDZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: in a box under the stairs in the corner of the basement half a block down the street from Jerry's Bait shop, You know the place.
Posts: 502
hmmm...they even answer in the faq that installing SP1a won't work, I wonder why? :P blue list keygen, anyone? It does sound like alot of crap, but if it makes any difference, the email was not from a free provider, it was a @cox.net email.
__________________


Image made by someone at deviantART.com, I lost their name, sorry...
VDDZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2004   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
scottlc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: St Andrews, Scotland
Posts: 1,575
It looks very suspicious. I smell a rat.
__________________
OS: Arch Linux w/ Kernel 2.6.23.8 + GNOME 2.20.1 - CPU: Intel Pentium M 1.5GHz - Memory: 1280MB DDR PC2700 - Browser: Mozilla Firefox 2.0.0.10
scottlc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2004   #9 (permalink)
Emulation64's Animal >:D
 
Keith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: United States
Posts: 1,215
I noticed in the FAQ it says .. This software is recognized as a backup software. . I wouldn't trust it .. especially when they sell a $4000 program for $100. Plus it says you can't register the software or get support with the OEM software .. or even some updates .. I wouldn't trust it and would bet it is an illegal operation out of eastern europe.
__________________




Emulation64.com | EFx2Blogs Forums | EFx2Blogs - Sign Up For Your Own Free EFx2Blog Today!
Keith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2004   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
K.I.L.E.R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,338
WOW! A $3900 difference.
It has to be a scam.
I don't think MS would take kindly to people selling "backups".
K.I.L.E.R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2004   #11 (permalink)
c3rTifiEd V@mpIr3
 
Quatro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Laguna
Posts: 8,295
yeah... better get the real one
__________________

BE ONE OF US I JOIN THE WOLF CLAN


- when you think that you have accomplish so much, many think of it as so little...

Quatro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT. The time now is 17:51.

© 2006 - 2008 Emu Forums | About Emu Forums | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0 Release Candidate 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0 RC5