Emuforums.com

Go Back   Emuforums.com > PS2 Emulation > Misc PS2 Discussion
About Us Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Login to remove all ads!
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 6th, 2003   #1 (permalink)
SEGA Fanatic
 
Regulus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Nebraska, U.S.
Posts: 1,579
What happened?

Im not even sure if we're allowed to talk about this here. Has anybody heard anything about EmutionEngine? Its just like it disappeared off the face of the earth. I can't access the site anymore. Has it even been definitely proven that it was stealing PCSX2 Code? Please let me know.
__________________
SEGA owns you

http://www.exemu.net
Regulus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2003   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Hungary
Posts: 2,184
Re: What happened?

no code stealing. period.

nyaa
jegHegy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2003   #3 (permalink)
SEGA Fanatic
 
Regulus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Nebraska, U.S.
Posts: 1,579
Re: What happened?

What is that supposed to mean? I ASKED IF IT HAD BEEN PROVEN!
__________________
SEGA owns you

http://www.exemu.net
Regulus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2003   #4 (permalink)
dn
Administrator
 
dn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: London, England
Posts: 1,100
Re: What happened?

*sighs*

jez had previously been the "Main Author" of an N64 emulator that turned out to be a total rip off. Remember that.

jez stated in his emulator that he had used some code given to him by one of the PCSX2 authors - florin, I believe. However, as PCSX2 is under the GPL, this means that jez's emulator too had to be under GPL. After it was proposed that he had taken more code than he had let on, jez was confronted to prove that the emulator was legit (ie. not a total rip-off of PCSX2). If he wanted to continue distribution of the first release of his emulator, he HAD to release the source, however, he blantantly refused to do so and instead decided to not make any more releases. He said he didn't have access to his own site, and therefore couldn't take the files down, he a week went by, and in the end I contacted Martin and the rest of the Emulation64 admins about this. Soon aftere, the entire site was deleted.

Now, if the emulator was legit, why would jez not send the source code to anyone to check? In my eyes, the emulator is "fake"; "rip-off"; "not his own". Duff project, end of story, end of jez no doubt.

Good evening.
__________________
“A commonplace man marvels at uncommon things; a wise man marvels at the commonplace” - Confucius
dn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2003   #5 (permalink)
SEGA Fanatic
 
Regulus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Nebraska, U.S.
Posts: 1,579
Re: What happened?

Ok. Thank you Dixon, for clearing that up. That was EXACTLY what I wanted to know. BTW.....Was that Blade64??
__________________
SEGA owns you

http://www.exemu.net
Regulus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT. The time now is 16:54.

© 2006 - 2008 Emu Forums | About Emu Forums | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0 Release Candidate 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0 RC5